# Appendix 1.6 Classification of the countries of citizenship for the 2011 National Household Survey

## **2011 NHS CLASSIFICATION**

#### Canada

Canada, by birth

Canada, by naturalization

### Other countries of citizenship

Afghanistan

Albania

Algeria

Angola

Antigua and Barbuda

Argentina

Armenia

Australia<sup>1</sup>

Austria

Azerbaijan

Bahamas

Bahrain

Bangladesh

Barbados

Belarus

Belgium

Belize

Benin

Bhutan

Bolivia<sup>2</sup>

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Botswana

Brazil

Brunei Darussalam

Bulgaria

Burkina Faso

Burma (Myanmar)

Burundi

Cambodia

Cameroon

Cape Verde

Central African Republic

Chad

Chile

China, People's Republic of<sup>3</sup>

Colombia

Comoros

Congo, Republic of the

Congo, The Democratic Republic of the

Costa Rica

Côte d'Ivoire

Croatia

Cuba

Cyprus

Czech Republic

Denmark<sup>4</sup>

Djibouti

Dominica

Dominican Republic

Ecuador

Egypt

El Salvador

Eritrea

Estonia

Ethiopia

Fiji

Finland<sup>5</sup>

France<sup>6</sup>

Gabon

Gambia

Georgia

Germany

Ghana

Greece

Grenada

Guatemala

Guinea

Guyana

Haiti

Honduras

Hungary

Iceland

India

Indonesia

Iran<sup>-</sup>

Iraq

Ireland, Republic of

Israel

Italy

Jamaica

Japan

Jordan

Kazakhstan

Kenya

Korea, North<sup>8</sup>

Korea, South<sup>9</sup>

Kosovo<sup>10</sup>

Kuwait

Kyrgyzstan Laos<sup>11</sup>

Latvia

Lebanon

Liberia

Libya<sup>12</sup>

Lithuania

Luxembourg

Macedonia, Republic of 13

Madagascar

Malawi

Malaysia

Mali

Malta

Mauritania

Mauritius

Mexico

Moldova<sup>14</sup>

Mongolia

Montenegro

Morocco

Mozambique

Namibia

Nepal

. Netherlands 15

New Zealand<sup>16</sup>

Nicaragua

Niger

Nigeria

Norway<sup>17</sup>

Oman

Pakistan

Panama

Paraguay

Peru

Philippines

Poland

Portugal

Qatar

Romania

Russian Federation

Rwanda

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Saudi Arabia

Senegal

Serbia

Seychelles

Sierra Leone

Singapore

Slovakia

Slovenia

Somalia

South Africa, Republic of

Spain

Sri Lanka

Sudan

Suriname

Swaziland

Sweden

Switzerland

Syria<sup>18</sup>

Taiwan

Tajikistan

Tanzania 19

Thailand

Togo

Trinidad and Tobago

Tunisia

Turkey

Turkmenistan

Uganda

Ukraine

**United Arab Emirates** 

United Kingdom - British citizen<sup>20</sup>

United Kingdom - Dependencies and other<sup>21</sup>

United States<sup>22</sup>

Uruguay

Uzbekistan

Venezuela<sup>23</sup>

Viet Nam<sup>24</sup>

West Bank and Gaza Strip (Palestine)<sup>25</sup>

Yemen

Zambia

Zimbabwe

Other countries of citizenship, n.i.e.<sup>26</sup>

Stateless<sup>27</sup>

#### Notes:

- 1. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of Australia. This includes responses of 'Cocos (Keeling) Islands,' 'Christmas Island' and 'Norfolk Island.'
- 2. The official name of Bolivia is Plurinational State of Bolivia.
- 3. Includes responses of 'People's Republic of China,' 'Macao' and 'Hong Kong.' Macao and Hong Kong are special administrative regions of China. Also includes persons born in Hong Kong, who reported a citizenship of 'Stateless.'
- 4. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of Denmark. This includes responses such as 'Faroe Islands' and 'Greenland.'
- 5. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of Finland. This includes responses such as 'Åland Islands.'
- 6. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of France. This includes responses such as 'French Polynesia,' 'French Guiana,' 'Guadeloupe,' 'Martinique,' 'Mayotte,' 'New Caledonia,' 'Réunion,' 'Saint Barthélemy,' 'Saint Martin (French part),' 'Saint Pierre and Miquelon,' 'Wallis and Futuna' and 'French dependency.'
- 7. The official name of Iran is Islamic Republic of Iran.
- 8. The official name of North Korea is Democratic People's Republic of Korea.
- 9. The official name of South Korea is Republic of Korea.
- 10. The official name of Kosovo is Republic of Kosovo.
- 11. The official name of Laos is Lao People's Democratic Republic.
- 12. The official name of Libya is Libyan Arab Jamahiriya.
- 13. Known as Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia in the United Nations and other international bodies.
- 14. The official name of Moldova is Republic of Moldova.
- 15. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of Netherlands. This includes responses such as 'Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba,' 'Aruba,' 'Curação' and 'Sint Maarten (Dutch part).'
- 16. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of New Zealand. This includes responses such as 'Cook Islands,' 'Niue' and 'Tokelau.'
- 17. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of Norway. This includes responses such as 'Svalbard and Jan Mayen Island.'

- 18. The official name of Syria is Syrian Arab Republic.
- 19. The official name of Tanzania is United Republic of Tanzania.
- 20. This includes responses such as 'British,' 'British citizen,' 'Britain,' 'Scotland,' 'Wales,' 'Northern Ireland,' 'Isle of Man,' 'Guernsey,' 'Jersey' and 'Channels Island.' The official name of United Kingdom is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 21. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of the United Kingdom. This includes responses such as 'Anguilla,' 'Bermuda,' 'British Indian Ocean Territory,' 'Cayman Islands,' 'Falkland Islands,' 'Gibraltar,' 'Montserrat,' 'Pitcairn,' 'Saint Helena,' 'Turks and Caicos Islands,' 'British Virgin Islands,' 'British dependency' and 'British Overseas citizenship.' This excludes responses of 'Scotland,' 'Wales,' 'Northern Ireland,' 'Isle of Man,' 'Guernsey,' 'Jersey' and 'Channel Islands.' The official name of United Kingdom is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.
- 22. Includes any dependency or associated overseas territory of the United States. This includes responses such as 'American Samoa,' 'Guam,' 'Northern Mariana Islands,' 'Puerto Rico,' 'United States Minor Outlying Islands,' 'Virgin Islands, United States' and 'American dependency.'
- 23. The official name of Venezuela is Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.
- 24. The official name of Viet Nam is Socialist Republic of Viet Nam.
- 25. This includes responses such as 'West Bank,' 'Gaza Strip' and 'Palestine.' West Bank and Gaza Strip are the territories referred to in the Declaration of Principles, signed by Israel and the Palestine Liberation Organization in 1993. Palestine refers to pre-1948 British mandate Palestine.
- 26. Includes countries such as Andorra; Equatorial Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Holy See (Vatican City State); Kiribati; Lesotho; Liechtenstein; Maldives; Marshall Islands; Federated States of Micronesia; Monaco; Nauru; Palau; Papua New Guinea; Samoa; San Marino; Sao Tome and Principe; Solomon Islands; Timor-Leste; Tonga; Tuvalu; and Vanuatu.
- 27. Includes responses of 'Stateless' and 'Western Sahara.' This excludes responses of persons who reported 'Hong Kong' as their place of birth and who reported 'Stateless' as their citizenship. These responses are included in 'People's Republic of China.'